Reviews

8.4
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
8.2
Property Location
8.9
Facilities
8.1
Staff
8.7
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Shirley
    us

    Review Score

    10
    April 19, 2018

    We felt at home and totally enjoyed our stay, Great service! Most interesting!

    us

    Review Score

    10
    November 12, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sharon
    us

    Review Score

    7.5
    November 2, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kelly EM
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 28, 2017

    Nice stay at Mystic portal bed and breakfast

    Room is a little small with two beds. Need to lift extension cord off floor that supplies lamp and heater. Tripped over it several times. Simple breakfast. Meat options..like sausage, bacon.
    Nice deck with hot tub. Large bed with all needed amenities.
    Sarah
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 25, 2017

    We found our sanctuary to escape the chaos of life!

    Marianne was an amazing host. I took my mom here for a get away trip for her birthday. Both my mom and I love bohemian touches and don't want to stay at your typical cookie cutter B&b. The hot tip on the deck facing pikes peak was perfect to soak away all your worries and the jam session Marianne puts on brought us to tears! If you're looking for s unique experience, with genuine people who are not afraid to connect, and a sanctuary amongst the chaos, Mystic Portal is it!
    Amy
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 8, 2017

    Our stay was even better than I could have imagined!! I will be back, soon I hope.

    Everything was great!!
    Well, this definitely won't be my last trip to Colorado, and DEFINITELY not my last stay at the mystic portal. Maryann was super friendly, gave us plenty of alone time, accommodated all of our *special needs and I heard (but slept through) she makes an amazing breakfast. The house is beautiful! It's full of vintage art and healing crystals. The windows are covered with colorful curtains offering a kalidascope like room and of course TV in every room. The bathrooms were clean and the fixtures were nice and obvious well taken care of. The hot tub was amazing with a view of the mountains!! Also, I highly recommend hiking through the garden of the gods!! It's only a couple miles away, it's free, and it's absolutely breath taking. Also the Zoo was the best I've ever seen!!! I'm sure you can tell - we had a blast. Then come home and enjoy the good vibes of the mystic portal. Colorado Spring's secret escape from reality. ❤️ Enjoy yourself.
    Carolyn
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 4, 2017

    A quirky, delightful environment with beautiful mountain views.

    Access to the garden/hot tub area requires going outdoors, but path is well lighted with cute little lights to guide the way. Forgot to ask about towels for hot tub, so just did a drip dry on return to the room.
    Even though we missed breakfast attending the balloon lift off, bagels with cream cheese and honey with OJ were provided upon our return before leaving. Hostess is very friendly. Decor is unique, eclectic and a little quirky. Makes it a fun environment. Mountains in background are a bonus with the hot tub, (which could have been hotter) and a glass of wine. The Seafood Grill several blocks away was amazing for food and outstanding service; allowed service even though it was to close in 5 minutes. Our server, Nikki, was one of the best ever. Manager very personable as well. Highly recommend this restaurant for an elegant environment.
    Rae Fiche
    us

    Review Score

    5.0
    September 3, 2017

    Beautiful Scenery, awful service

    The proprietor was extremely rude, disrespectful, and unaccommodating. I could not have been more disappointed with my experience. Prior to booking, I called and talked to the owner to make sure it was not going to be an uncomfortable experience staying in a weed friendly hotel when I am sober. She assured me that it would be totally fine, and we had an extensive conversation about how I don't mind others smoking I just don't personally partake. When I arrived to check in, she was intoxicated with a drink in hand, and the first thing she pointed out was the ashtrays where we could smoke. She had originally promised a bottle of champagne with our booking. Again, upon explaining I don't drink, she said she would provide food or some other kind of surprise. Nothing. She provided nothing, champagne, food, or otherwise. Finally, prior to booking I what time breakfast was served and asked if it was possible to get early breakfast as we wanted to get a start on the day. She again assured me she would be accommodating to an earlier breakfast time. When we checked in and I requested the earlier breakfast time, she offered to serve breakfast 15minutes prior to the normal time. Ok that's not what we discussed but that's fine. Whatever. The next morning, she not only didn't bring it up 15min early,. But not even *on time*. She brought a sloppy breakfast of half a bagel and some eggs on paper plates, late. For nearly $500 for a weekend, I would expect a much better level of service. It was almost comical how bad it was.
    The property was in a great location and had good views.
    Amy
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 22, 2017

    Loved it

    This place was so laid-back and relaxing. Definitely the place to go for a beautiful view and to chill and enjoy the hot tub along with the beautiful view
    Amanda
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 19, 2017

    Mystic Portal is quirkily perfect.

    I chose the Mystic Portal becuase of it's name and the property did not fail to please. It was everything I hoped for. The view of the Rocky Mountains from the back deck and hot tub were spectacular. The outside space is charming during the day, BUT at night it becomes magical with twinkling lights, statuary and paths that lead to sitting areas and separate lodgings. The other guests were like-minded and we enjoyed more than one gathering with them and our host and hostess. Marianne, the property owner, was a pleasant bonus. She lives on the property and met mine and my husband's every request, happily. BUT even better, she became our friend during our visit. If you are looking for a unique experience that comes with comfy beds and intelligent conversation, this is the place! I cannot wait to return!
    Todd
    us

    Review Score

    7.1
    August 8, 2017

    Fun place in a very relaxed environment.

    Breakfast was a do-it-yourself process but supplies were adequate.
    Beautiful views from deck, hot tub, friendly staff.
    Mike
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 7, 2017

    Felt like we were staying with relatives-relaxed and homey.

    The "driveway from hell"! Very steep driveway that will scrape the underside of your car. They do have other parking available...do not attempt the DFH (driveway from hell)!! Park on street!
    Private, lovely deck, and super hospitality. Wonderful views of the stars, mountains and city lights.
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 1, 2017
    Maryanne and Jeff where very polite and friendly folks. If you want a laid back environment this is the place for you. Looking forward to staying there again.
    Besegen
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    July 17, 2017

    A great place to stay for anybody thru 40's without kids who want a more homey and social experience

    The shared bathroom situation is somewhat inconvenient, though the bathroom is very nice. Just feel the property could use one more bathroom somewhere. The outdoor cabin is cozy but would be moreso if it we're finished up a bit more. It feels like a work still in progress,which it probably is.
    Marianne is a trip and very accommodating. The property is unique and homey. Really enjoyed having the nice patio areas.
    Henry
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 14, 2017
    Breakfast was great! Beautiful view. Comfortable beds. Best of all Marianne was great!! Made you feel at home. So quiet and relaxing ☺
    Beau
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 5, 2017

    The stay was comfortable , very welcoming.

    I loved how nice everyone was , the beds where amazing . The jacoozy was great with the mountains in the back and it seemed so homey !
    us

    Review Score

    5.4
    July 5, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kaitlyn
    us

    Review Score

    10
    December 27, 2016

    Changed my life !!!!

    Lots of room...very accommodating really relaxed
    Joey
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 4, 2016

    Austin time

    Nothing
    The hall effect and offer
    Margaret
    us

    Review Score

    3.8
    September 3, 2016

    Worst stay ever and at a high cost -- a real disappointment.

    We were told that there were 6 adults sharing one 1950ish, unimproved bathroom. The half-bathroom that was supposed to be available was locked at night. There was only one exterior door that was not locked at night (this does not meet the fire code). There were no towels or washcloths in the room and no trash can. The house and grounds were cluttered, unkempt, and poorly maintained. The air conditioner was feeble. The photos of the house on-line were misleading. The proprietor was not available at the start of the breakfast period (no one was), when we had hoped to discuss the situation in person. The refrigerator was stuffed with leftover boxes and half-empty jars and bottles. Though we were told the day we arrived to help ourselves to whatever was in the refrigerator, it was a booby trap ready to spring if you moved anything (if you actually wanted any of it). In the evening, a half-empty glass of wine and a big plug of marijuana were left on the kitchen table. We stayed only one of the two nights we had booked, and though we requested a refund, it was not given. I imagine that this place gets rented because the posting misleads, and on busy weekends and high-traffic times of year, there are few choices. If you're looking to stay in Colorado Springs and this is what's left, go to Canon City or another nearby place -- Mystic Portal is dreadful. We should have known with a name like that.
    The location of the house.
Loading reviews...